Vinaora Nivo Slider 3.xVinaora Nivo Slider 3.x


The current 2015 organizational set-up of the Ministry of Tinkhundla Administration and Development was established in 2009. The functions allocated to the Ministry were previously performed by various Ministries and Agencies within Government. The objective of the current institutional arrangement is to maximize coordination and efficient use of resources in regions and Tinkhundla. The portfolio responsibilities of the Ministry of Tinkhundla Administration and Development are:

  • Tinkhundla Administration
  • Regional Development Planning and Co-ordination
  • Decentralization
  • National Physical Planning
  • Community Development



1. Directive Principle of State Policy


  • Section 58 (2) "In the conduct of the public affairs the State shall be guided by the principle of decentralization and devolution of Government functions and powers to the people at appropriate levels where the people can best manage and direct their own affairs"
  • 59 (2d) "The State shall in particular take all necessary steps to establish a sound and healthy economy whose underlying principles shall include undertaking even and balanced development of all regions and in particular improving the conditions of life in the total areas, and generally, redressing any imbalance in development between the rural and urban areas'
  • 60 (10) "The State shall take steps to encourage the integration of appropriate customary values into the fabric of national life"

2. System of Government

  • 79 "The system of Government of Swaziland is a democratic, participatory, Tinkhundla based system which emphasizes devolution of state power from central Government to Tinkhundla areas and individual merit as a basis for election or appointment to public office"


  • 80 (3) "The Tinkhundla units or areas inspired by a policy of decentralization of state power, are the engines of development and the central pillars underpinning the political organization and economic infrastructure of the country through which services to the different parts of the Swazi Community are facilitated and delivered"

4. Regional Administration

  • 82 (1) "Swaziland is divided into four administrative regions, namely: Hhohho, Lubombo, Manzini, Shiselweni"
  • 82 (2) "Each region is divided into as many Tinkhundla as may be recommended by the Elections and Boundaries Commission'
  • 82 (4) "A regional Council (set up in each region) shall advise the Regional Administrator, on the administration of the region and coordinate social and economic development of the region and perform such other functions within the Region as may be prescribed"

5. Local Government

  • 218 (1) "The State shall establish a single country wide system of local Government which is based on the tinkhundla system of government hierarchically organized according to the volume and complexity of services rendered and integrated so to avoid urban/rural dichotomy"
  • 218 (2) The primary objective of the tinkhundla based system of Government is to bring government closer to the people so that the people at sub-national level or local community level progressively take control of their own affairs'

6. Chiefs/Tikhulu

  • 233 (1)"Chiefs are the footstool of Ingwenyama and Ingwenyama rules through the Chifs"
  • 225 (4)"For purposes of (Chapter 13-Local Government System), chiefs shall be under the general oversight of the Ministry of Local Government"







Hon. Sikhumbuzo  Dlamini

Principal Secretary:

Mrs Nonhlanhla Dlamini

Under Secretary: 

Mr. Zwakele N. Dlamini


OffCanvas Menu